Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Lenoir-Rhyne takes SAC lacrosse title

Lenoir-Rhyne takes SAC lacrosse title

  • Updated
  • 0

For the second time in program history, the Lenoir-Rhyne men’s lacrosse team captured a South Atlantic Conference tournament championship, according to the LRU athletics website.

The Bears defeated Wingate by a 19-14 score. The team last won the SAC tourney in 2016.

Lenoir-Rhyne finished the season with one loss in 14 games. Wingate’s loss on Sunday was the team’s second defeat of the season.

The Bears used an eight-goal second quarter to erase a 5-4 Wingate lead and take control of the match. LR scored six of those eight goals in the first 4:46 of the second quarter.

Will Canata came into the game with eight goals on the year but scored three of LR’s first seven goals and finished with a career-high five goals on the game.

After Wingate cut it to 12-10 in the third quarter, Myles Moffat scored one of his four goals on the game and Bryce Reece added another to give the Bears a four-goal cushion.

Canata’s final goal of the game gave the Bears their biggest lead of the game at five and that was how it would finish with the Bears grabbing the 19-14 win.

Eric Dickinson finished with three goals and an assist as he would go on to be named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

Victor Powell scored his first career goal and added five caused turnovers and three ground balls.

Zach Bodeau dominated the face-off, winning 22-of-28 and grabbing a career-high 15 ground balls.

Noah Johnson had 16 saves to earn his 13th win of the season.

Wingate was led by a tremendous effort by Willie Grieco who dished out eight assists. Adam Vodovnik had six goals and Bobby Padden had four goals and an assist.


The Bears beat Queens to win the 2016 SAC Tournament title by a score of 10-9.

Lenoir-Rhyne is now 9-5 all-time in SAC tournament games.

The Bears lost to Wingate in the SAC title game in 2018.

LR snapped a four-game losing streak to Wingate and pushed the all-time record to 7-6 in favor of the Bears.

Dickinson joins Carson Sterling as the only players in LR history to be named SAC Tournament MVP.

LR also captured the regular-season crown, making this the second sweep of the regular season and postseason championships in program history.


Bears will find out their NCAA Tournament draw with the NCAA Division II men’s lacrosse selection show set for May 9.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

News Alert