Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Sculpture celebration winners announced

Sculpture celebration winners announced

  • 0

LENOIR — The Caldwell Arts Council announced the winners of the 35th annual Sculpture Celebration as judged by Elizabeth Brim of Penland.

Held on Sept. 11 at the Broyhill Walking Park in Lenoir,  sculptors from as far away as New York, Pennsylvania and Puerto Rico competed for a total of $11,000 in cash prizes. This event was funded by sponsors and by the North Carolina Arts Council, a division of the Department of Natural and Cultural Resources.

Winners were as follows: 

• Best In Show ($3,000): George Cadell of Bakersville,  “After the Storm”

• First Place ($2,000): Mary-Ann Prack of Jefferson, “The Other Side of Me”

• Second Place ($1,500): Joe Bigley of Lenoir,  “Meridian Crease”

• Third Place ($1,000): Joel Urruty of Hickory, “Breach”

Judge’s Merit Award (five awards of $500 each)

• Jeff Albert of High Point, “Beauty”

• Chris Wilson of Marietta, Georgia, “Carolina Parakeet”

• Suzette Bradshaw of Granite Falls, “Spirits of the Water”

• Beau Lyday of Valdese, “Celtic Travels”

• Jeff Menzer of Asheville, “Sling-Wing-Ding” 

Honorable Mention Award (five awards of $100 ea.)

• Anna Berry of Morganton, “Heart”

• Nathan Leslie of Climax, “Robbing the Coop”

• Crista Cammaroto of Charlotte, “Maripolkagold”

• Harry McDaniel of Asheville, “Beat Hive”

• Tom Risser of Waxhaw, “4 Heads Are Better” 

People’s Choice, Professional Category ($500)

Courtesy of the Stevens Family Foundation

• Nathaniel Miller of Collettsville, “Homework for Aunt Louise” 

Visit to see photos of this year’s winners.


Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

News Alert